Ryan Heger was among the big winners in Saturday night’s season-ending Championship Night event at the 3/8-mile Dodge City Raceway Park.

Ryan Heger was among the big winners in Saturday night’s season-ending Championship Night event at the 3/8-mile Dodge City Raceway Park. Heger edged IMCA Modified track champion Brendon Gemmill in the 20-lap Modified main with other winners included Trent Kleweno in the United Wireless IMCA Sport Modifieds, Dusty Witthuhn in IMCA Stock Cars, Cody Davis in Poor Boy Kustomz Thunder Car action and Jarett Lunow in the Hornets. In the IMCA Modified finale, Jon Herring took the lead away from Jason Lunow on the second round and diced for the point for several rounds with fifth-starter Heger before surrendering the lead on the tenth round. Heger held Gemmill at bay by several car-lengths until the final corner when he pushed high and narrowly gave the win away. Heger held on by inches, while Gemmill fell just short of his sixth win of the season. “I pushed in that last corner and had to get out of it way too much, I’m just glad we held on,” Heger explained after his first career Modified win at DCRP. Beau Davis claimed the show position behind Heger and Gemmill, with Nick Link and Mike Lunow rounding out the top five.  While he settled for second in the IMCA Modified finale, Gemmill claimed his second track championship in a row after Cole Traugott fell out of contention in the early going with front end damage. Gemmill had entered the night trailing Traugott by one point. After Jared Baird paced the opening four rounds of the United Wireless IMCA Sport Modified main event, Kleweno and Robert Elliott battled for the point over the final half dozen circuits of the 20-lapper. After a lap 18 caution briefly interrupted their duel, the pair swapped the lead again in the final pair of corners with Kleweno getting the nod at the stripe.  Kleweno and Elliott were chased to the line by Baird, with Jeff Kaup and Bart Baker rounding out the top five. Though he officially led all 15 laps, Witthuhn had his hands full with Michael Pepper as he drove to his third IMCA Stock Car win of the year. Witthuhn and Pepper were chased to the line by Sonny O’Hair, Brandon Fisher and Keith Riley. Davis emerged atop a hard fought Poor Boy Kustomz Thunder Car 15-lap feature that included at least a half-dozen lead changes. Davis snared the lead for keeps on the 13th lap and took the checkered flag ahead of Dan Rogers, Edwin Elliott, Dustin Walker and Toby Schield. Jarett Lunow raced around Brandon Bogner six laps into the 20-lap Hornet feature and went on to his first win of the year ahead of Brandon Sprott, Brian Rohrer, Dewayne Bowman and Martin Marlowe. DCRP Awards Banquet on Nov. 10 The Dodge City Raceway Park Awards Banquet is set for Saturday night, November 10, at the Knights of Columbus building at 800 West Frontview Street. Doors will open at 6 p.m., with dinner served at 7 p.m. and the awards ceremony to follow. Tickets to the event are just $25 per person and must be ordered by October 24 to determine an accurate headcount. Tickets may be ordered by calling the Dodge City Raceway Park office at 620-225-3277. The top ten in points in all five divisions (IMCA Modifieds, United Wireless IMCA Sport Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars, Poor Boy Kustomz Thunder Cars and Hornets) will all receive trophies, with top ten in Modifieds, Sport Modifieds, Stock Cars and Thunder Cars receiving point fund money as well. The 2012 season at Dodge City Raceway Park consisted of 14 nights of racing action over 11 different weekends, with Brendon Gemmill (IMCA Modifieds), Bart Baker (United Wireless IMCA Sport Modifieds), Perry Misner (IMCA Stock Cars), Dan Rogers (Poor Boy Kustomz Thunder Cars) and Dewayne Bowman (Hornets) coming away with the track championships.