DCHS opens 3-1 in dual action

The Dodge City Red Demons wrestling team opened up their season by finishing 3-1 and placing third against Colorado competition in the Rocky Ford Wrestling Invitational.

The Red Demons won both of their pool play matches over Palmer (62-18) and Lamar (42-33) before getting beat in the semifinals by Alamosa (48-23). Dodge City closed out the day with a 36-34 victory over Canon City.

"Many of the teams at the Rocky Ford Invitational are perennial powers in the state of Colorado. For our kids to come in and compete well really was encouraging," said Dodge City head coach Lars Lueders. "There were a lot of question marks coming in to this season. This past weekend showed that some of those question marks may have been answered. We have a lot to improve on and I am confident our team will improve throughout the season."

Dane Edwards won all four of his matchups on the day to lead the Red Demon charge. Three of Edwards' wins were by pinfall and the fourth by technical fall.

Five other wrestlers went 3-1 on the day. Corey Keller picked up three victories by pinfall at 170, while Jaquan Graves (120) and Clay Weil (126) recorded two pins and a decision on the day. James Meehan (160) recorded a pin and two decisions, while Howard Johnson (106) had a technical fall and two decisions.

Pueblo Centennial won the meet, beating Alamosa in the final.

The Demons' next action will be Thursday night when they host Great Bend at the DCHS Fieldhouse. It will also be DCHS Wrestling Hall of Fame night.

"It was important for our wrestlers to get four0 duals in before the upcoming Hall of Fame Thursday night at home," Lueders said. "Our kids will have a better idea of what to expect. We are anticipating a large and energized crowd Thursday night."


120: Jaquan Graves (DC) dec. Cade Nash (P); 11-6

126: Clay Weil (DC) pinned Edward Rivera; 2:51

132: Andrew Pellow (P) pinned Dakota Loeschen (DC); 3:29

138: Dane Edwards (DC) tech. George Truong (P); 15-0

145: Santiago Garcia (DC) pinned Danny Vasquez (P); :129

152: Ryan Pellow (P) pinned Jhett Ostrom (DC); 4:42

160: James Meehan (DC) pinned Tavares Waudner (P); 3:09

170: Corey Keller (DC) pinned Grant Matthews (P); 1:49

182: Gideon Wells (DC) pinned Jacob Taylor (P); :504

195: David Mendez (DC) pinned Logan White (P); 4:26

220: Connor Kinkelaar (DC) injury def. Cody Brunsvold (P)

285: Draper Sullivan (P) pinned Christian Torres (DC); 1:18

106: Howard Johnson (DC) dec. Summer Truong (P); 9-6

113: Jaden McRoberts (DC) pinned Corigan Kohlgraf (P); :31


126: Clay Wiel (DC) dec. Kaleb Hansen (L); 6-3

132: Dakota Loeschen (DC) pinned Zach Kane (L); :23

138: Dane Edwards (DC) pinned Draven Adame (L); 1:39

145: Cesar Serano (L) pinned David Forrester (DC); 1:18

152: Jhett Ostrom (DC) won by forfeit

160: James Meehan (DC) dec. Kenny Soto (L); 6-3

170: Colin Mahaney (L) pinned Corey Keller (DC); 1;17

182: Kyle Hicks (L) pinned Gideon Wells (DC); 1:11

195: David Mendez (DC) won by forfeit

220: Tanner Crist (L) pinned Connor Kinkelaar (DC); 3:35

285: Christian Torres (DC) won by forfeit

106: Cameron Batterton (L) pinned Howard Johnson (DC); :43

113: Michael Johnson (L) dec. Jaden McRoberts (DC); 7-6

120: Jaquan Graves (DC) pinned Chris Johnson (L); 4:11


138: Dane Edwards (DC) pinned Sam Marquez (A); 2;54

145: Branden Heredia (A) dec. Santiago Garcia (DC); 10-3

152: Dillan Vance (A) dec. Jhett Ostrom (DC); 3-1

160: Josh Gonzales (A) dec. James Meehan (A); 11-7

170: Corey Keller (DC) pinned Nate Henry (A); 3:18

182: Chris Agurre (A) pinned Gideon Wells (DC); :37

195: Nick Jones (A) pinned David Mendez (DC); :46

220: Pablo Villareal (A) pinned Connor Kinkelaar (DC); 5:01

285: Brandon Ratcliff (A) pinned Christian Torres (DC); 1:40

106: Howard Johnson (DC) tech. Tyler Copley (A); 20-5

113: Tel Kelley (A) pinned Jaden McRoberts (DC); 1:08

120: Jaquan Graves (DC) pinned David Gallegos (A); 3:45

126: Neal Meallof (A) dec. Clay Weil (DC); 7-5

132: Kale Kelley (A) pinned Dakota Loeschen (DC); 1:15



145: Gaven Guess (CC) dec. Santiago Garcia (DC); 7-2

152: Anthony Kelly (CC) pinned Jhett Ostrom (DC); 3;15

160: James Meehan (DC) dec. Spence Bethune (CC); 5-0

170: Corey Keller (DC) pinned Tommy Deater (CC); 3:49

182: Anthony Abbot (CC) pinned Gideon Wells (DC); 1:44

195: Blake Penshire (CC) dec. David Mendez (DC); 9-1

220: Garret Renell (CC) pinned Christian Torres (DC); 4:30

285: Stephen Bradshaw (CC) pinned Connor Kinkelaar (DC); 3:00

106: Howard Johnson (DC) dec. Scott Ready (CC); 14-10

113: Jaden McRoberts (DC) pinned Parker Holman (CC); 2:22

120: Jake Shipper (CC) dec. Jaquan Graves (DC); 8-6

126: Clay Weil (DC) pinned Cody Simms (CC); 2:38

132: Dakota Loeschen (DC) pinned Kyser Scaney (CC); 3:30

138: Dane Edwards (DC) pinned Caleb Coffey (CC); 3:40