At the city commission meeting Monday evening, a bid from APAC Kansas Inc., Shears Division was approved for $1,064,419.

The bid approval will be for the construction and engineering of the US 50 and Fairway Drive intersection.

The Kansas Department of Transportation will be partnering with the city and will share in the cost of the project up to $600,000.

The city will cover the remaining amount beyond the $600,000.

The bid from APAC was the only bid submitted for the project.

Commissioners also approved a bid from Building Solutions for the reconstruction of Fourth Avenue from the Long Branch Lagoon entrance to the vacated Maple Street location.

Building Solutions was the lowest bid of $98,939.75 for the $150,000 budgeted project.

The funding will come from the General Obligation Bonds fund.

The need for the reconstruction according to city staff is to tie in the new construction of the water park along with the upcoming hotel and Guymon Petro Bar and Grill.

In other business, city commissioners approved a grant agreement for the Moderate Income Housing Program.

The grant agreement will be for $100,000 by the Kansas Housing Resource Corporation for Abandoned Housing Program.

The funds from the grant will be to build a new home on Mulberry Circle in partnership with the Dodge City Community College Building Trades program that once completed, will use the proceeds from the sale of the house to go to the Community Housing Association of Dodge City.

Several board and commission appointments were also made during the commission meeting.

The appointments were made to fill expired and/or vacant positions made at the end Jan. 30.

Those appointments are as follows: Airport Advisory Board, Dan Cammack and Kerry Zimmerman; Building Board of Appeals, Alex Chavez, Esteban Gallegos, Ryan Scott and Leonard Bockelman; Convention and Visitors Bureau — hospitality, Kim Cunningham, at-large Hayes Kelman; Cultural Relations Advisory Board, Greta Clark, Mary Marquez and Oliver Bland; Dodge City Planning Commission, Bill Pennington and Tom Taylor; Golf Advisory Board, Rick Shirley; Historic Landmark Commission, Terry Lee and Kathie Bell; Housing Authority Board, Mollea Wainscott; Library Board, Hazel Mead and Pat McLaughlin; Recycling Advisory Board, Luke Schulte, Ron Hamm and Kennedy St. George; Santa Fe Trail Community Corrections, Peggy Cecil and Leslie Lima and Shade Tree Commission, Lyle Smith.