The Dodge City Police Department held its annual awards ceremony on Tuesday evening at Hoover Pavilion at Wright Park.

Officer Shane Harris, who works in patrol and as the G.R.E.A.T. officer for the department, received the Officer of the Year Award from Chief Drew Francis.

Promotions were announced, several which had already happened within the department. Recruits James Hager, Michael Frazee, Michael Faulkner and Benjamin Decamp were all promoted to patrol officer; officers Francisco Herrera and Lee Kolbeck were promoted to detective; detective Orlando Villasenor was promoted to patrol sergeant; and patrol sergeant Jerad Goertzen was promoted to deputy chief.

Citizens Police Auxiliary Recognition was given to Magaly Leiva for 5 years of service; Janet Kelley for 100 hours of service in a calendar year for 10 years; Bill and Pat Mercado each for 20 years of dedicated service; and to Greg Addison for 20 years of dedicated service.

Three members of the department were given 10-year safe driver awards. They were Leslie Lima, school resource officers; David Gordon, detective; and Shannon McGee, detective sergeant.

Certificate of commendations were given to Ashley Apatiga, school resource officer; Lima; Tyler Dyer, patrol officer; Ruben Vela, patrol officer; Brandon Kelley, patrol corporal; and David Gordon, detective.

A certificate of appreciation was also awarded to Dade Buie.

"There was a great crowd," said Jeff Mooradian, lieutenant and patrol commander of Dodge City Police Department. "We would like to thank everyone who attended and remind everyone that the public is welcome and encouraged to attend our ceremonies each year.

"People can keep up with our events and news on our Facebook page for the Dodge City Police Department."


To contact the writer email