Since 2002, Boot Hill Museum has honored five inductees into the Kansas Cowboy Hall of Fame.

This year they have expanded.

On Saturday Nov. 11, the committee will be inducting five married couples into the hall of fame.

According to the Boot Hill Museum website, Kansas Cowboy Hall of Fame inductees are selected based on their significant contributions to the western heritage lifestyle, past or present, and to the preservation of the cowboy culture in Kansas.

Each of them personifies the cowboy ideals of integrity, honesty, and self-sufficiency.

The inductees are granted based on five categories: working cowboy, cowboy historian, cowboy entertainer/artist, rodeo cowboy and rancher/cattleman.

Among those couples being inducted are cowboy historians Merritt and Elizabeth Beeson, formerly of Dodge City.

They will be joined by cowboy entertainers Lem and Blanche McKinney Hunter, formerly of Syracuse; cowboy ranchers Andy and Helen Ebbutt Olson, formerly of Council Grove; rodeo cowboys Pete and Elease "Boots" Tucker of Elkhart and working cowboys Dee and Phyllis Scherich of McPherson.

Guymon Petro Bar and Grill will host the ceremony starting at 6 p.m. on Nov. 11.

Tickets are $20 and is open to the public.

Contact Boot Hill Museum executive director Lara Brehm at 620-227-8188 for more information and to make a reservation.

To contact the writer email