The Rachel McCormick Memorial Scholarship committee announces that her family, friends, and alumni of the Mullinville High School have established a scholarship in the memory of Rachel McCormick.

This $1,000 gift is to be used for education expenses for the 2019-2020 school years and will be given to a college junior or senior majoring in music or music education from Kiowa, Pratt, Comanche, Ford, or Edwards counties.

Deadline for application is April 19. Persons interested in applying may contact the music departments in any Kansas four-year college, or email Rachel McCormick Scholarship Fund,

McCormick and her music touched the lives of many people. Her family and friends would like her memory to keep on living by helping a deserving music major.

Students receiving the Rachel McCormick Memorial Scholarship have been, Stacey Shank, Greensburg; Scott Sternberger, Coldwater; Lynette Zimmerman, Mullinville; Alysha Ladenburger, Hays; Susan Vice, Bucklin; Lindsey Ritchie, Hays; Kara Sparks, Winfield; Krista Neifert, Pratt; Melanie Herd, Coldwater; Rebekah Fillmore, Haviland and Cassidy Puderbaugh, Coldwater.

This is the 19th year for the memorial scholarship, which is an ongoing fund.

Anyone wanting to donate, may send contributions to the Mullinville United Methodist Church, Rachel McCormick Scholarship Fund, P.O. Box 27, Mullinville, KS 67109.

Help give someone the opportunity to make an impact on others the way that Rachel did.