DCCC PTK hosts Fall induction ceremony

Lance Ziesch
DCCC Media Specialist
DCCC president Harold Nolte with the Kappa Psi Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society during its Fall 2020 Induction ceremony. SUBMITTED PHOTO

The Kappa Psi Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society hosted its Fall 2020 Induction ceremony on Tuesday, Nov. 10, in the Dodge City Community College Little Theatre.

At the meeting, the following officers were installed: Michelle Montalvo Gonzalez, president; Clara Bartlett, vice president of leadership; Cameren Bartlett, vice president of fellowship; Leslie Rodela, vice president of scholarship; Jasmin Castillo, vice president of service; Margarita Escobedo, treasurer and Calvin Wagoner, public relations officer.

The following students were inducted as new members; Gersen Garcia, Yessenia Garcia and Madison Gissendanner.

In order to be eligible for PTK, students must have completed at least 12 hours of coursework toward an associate or bachelor’s degree (or at least six hours of coursework toward a one-year certificate) and have a cumulative 3.5 grade point average.

Active participation in PTK helps students build personal connections with a network of likeminded people around the United States and in other countries.

PTK members are eligible for millions of dollars in exclusive scholarships and grants, as well as opportunities to build the honor society’s four hallmarks of scholarship, leadership, fellowship and service.

PTK was founded on Nov. 19, 1918. The DCCC Kappa Psi Chapter was chartered on April 21, 1960.